McDaniels Appreciation Award

In Appreciation for
Outstanding Service to the
Catamaran Racing Association of Michigan

Mcdaniels med

Many of you don't remember Duane. When I was just starting in the club in 1980  (and yes, I know - ancient) Duane and his wife, Judy, were an institution in the club. This is when catamaran sailing was in it's heyday, with 100-200 catamarans showing up for a regatta. Duane and Judy carried the club in many ways. When the club needed a new committee boat (our current Boston Whaler) but couldn't get financing, Duane stepped in and financed the boat himself. Yes, CRAM paid the payments, but this was a selfless act and a personal risk that not many would have taken on. Judy made stained glass trophies. Lots of them. This was back in the day, when we had separate trophies for every regatta. These were works of art, and I have a couple of them myself. Everywhere you looked, Duane & Judy were there contributing.

And so, this award is presented to the individuals that go above and beyond in supporting CRAM the way Duane & Judy did.

Past recipients are:

1990: Duane McDaniels 1998: Rick Olt 2006: Jan Gaffney 2014: Christy Higgins
1991: Roger & Ginger Cochran 1999: Sue Kizoff 2007: Mike Wisniewski 2015: Ron Kramer
1992: Carolyn Cox 2000: Mark Biggers 2008: Andy Kursch 2016: Kim Krutty
1993: Roger Cochran 2001: Terri Burns 2009: Jan Gaffney 2016: Keith Schwark
1994: Terri Burns 2002: Eric Kennedy 2010: Jim Egerdal 2017: James Derck
1995: Jim Powers 2003: Rick Olt 2011: Uli Gollwitzer 2018: James Derck
1996: Carol Enders 2004: Terri Burns 2012: Jim Egerdal  2019:
1997: Roger Cochran 2005: Terri Burns 2013: Jeff Rehm 2020:

If you talk to one of these people, buy them a beer. They worked for it.

And oh by the way, Duane is somewhere in Mexico as I write this - boardsailing. Rock on Duane.