McDaniels Appreciation Award

Many of you don't remember Duane. When I was just starting in the club in 1980 (and yes, I know - ancient) Duane and his wife, Judy, were an institution in the club. This is when catamaran sailing was in it's heyday, with 100-200 catamarans showing up for a regatta. Duane and Judy carried the club in many ways. 

When the club needed a new committee boat (our current Boston Whaler) but couldn't get financing, Duane stepped in and financed the boat himself. Yes, CRAM paid the payments, but this was a selfless act and a personal risk that not many would have taken on. Judy made stained glass trophies. Lots of them. This was back in the day, when we had separate trophies for every regatta. These were works of art, and I have a couple of them myself. Everywhere you looked, Duane andJudy were there contributing. 

And so, this award is presented to the individual(s) that goes above and beyond in supporting CRAM the way Duane and Judy did. If you talk to one of these people, buy them a beer. They worked for it. 

And oh by the way, Duane is somewhere in Mexico as I write this - boardsailing. Rock on Duane.

-- Roger Cochran


1990: Duane McDaniels 1991: Roger and Ginger Cochran 1992: Carolyn Cox
1993: Roger Cochran 1994: Terri Burns 1995: Jim Powers
1996: Carol Enders 1997: Roger Cochran 1998: Rick Olt
1999: Sue Kizoff 2000: Mark Biggers 2001: Terri Burns
2002: Eric Kennedy 2003: Rick Olt 2004: Teri Burns
2005: Terri Burns
2006: Jan Gaffney 2007: Mike Wisniewski
2008: Andy Kursch 2009: Jan Gaffney 2010: Jim Egerdal
2011: Uli Gollwitzer 2012: Jim Egerdal 2013: Jeff Rehm
2014: Christy Higgins 2015: Ron Kramer 2016: Kim Krutty
2017: Keith Schwark 2018: James Derck 2019: James Derck
2020: Keith Schwark 2021: Jim West 2022: Alex Hart
2023: Alex and Samantha Hart 2024: 2025: